Brookmans Park Newsletter

Return to Front

Recent News
Have Your Say
What You Said


Bin bag build up

Black bin bags had been left standing outside many homes in Brookmans Park for more than a week and had started to become as much part of the seasonal scene as the Christmas tree on the village green.

Residents had respond to a revised holiday collection schedule by putting their bags out as instructed - but the collections failed to happen.

A spokesperson at Welwyn Hatfield Council said that the snowfall and icy conditions had meant that the workforce had to be diverted to gritting duties and that was why the rubbish had been left on the roadside.

The Council had added two extra Saturday collections to help shift the increase in household rubbish following Christmas and New Year festivities and had earlier qualified its plans by saying that 'every effort would be made to collect on the days stated'.

A normal service is expected to resume from Monday January 8.

Anyone with enquiries or problems should ring the Environmental Services Division on 01707 357352 or 01707 357362.

According to the council, the Cole Green household waste site off the A414 road from Hatfield to Hertford is open weekdays from 11:00 to 16.30 and weekends from 09:00 to 16.30 for domestic waste and has a green waste container for unwanted Christmas trees. For enquiries about the tip call 01992 556151.

The following table sets out what should have happened.

Normal Collection Day Revised Collection Day
Thursday 28 December Friday 29 December or Saturday 30 December
Friday 29 December Saturday 30 December
Monday 1 January Tuesday 2 January
Tuesday 2 January Wednesday 3 January
Wednesday 3 January Thursday 4 January
Thursday 4 January Friday 5 January
Friday 5 January Saturday 6 January

January 5, 2000

Recent News

Revised refuse collection dates - December 28, 2000

feedback: feedback

Back to Top         Return to Front